top of page
priyagupta1014

Dreamgirls Press Event




When I think of Dreamgirls I think of glitz, glamour, and powerhouse vocals. Well, yesterday I got to experience something a little different. I was invited to the press event at the Alexandra Theatre Birmingham, where some of the cast and musicians came and performed a stripped-back, live lounge-style rendition of some of the classic hits from the musical. The cast performed ‘Fake your way to the top’, ‘Ain’t no party’, ‘Listen’, and ‘I am changing’. It was a real treat to be able to be given a sneak preview into the show ahead of its upcoming arrival to Birmingham from 6th - 31st December, just in time for the festive period.

The main cast members and band included: Nicole Dennis (Effie), Natalie Kassanga (Deena), Paige Peddie (Lorrell) and Brandon Lee Sears (Jimmy Early), MD and pianist Simona Budd, percussionist Cameron Lee and guitarist Brian Streeter. It was such a treat to be in such an intimate environment hearing these incredible singers belt out songs from the show. They also took the time to share their journeys within the musical of their character, and it was clear to see they have real joy and passion for playing their character every night on stage.

I was fortunate enough to interview Paige Peddie, who plays Lorrell Robinson, one of the dreams. Read on to hear what she had to say about playing her character, some of her favourite locations on the tour and her preshow rituals.

What does it feel like to be in Dreamgirls?

It feels incredible, it’s been one of my dream shows to be in since I was young. I loved watching the film and so to be able to be a part of the show is incredible. It's wonderful to have three strong women of colour on stage together because we all take our bows together and it's a special thing being hand in hand because we're all completely different characters.

What does it feel like to be in this industry, do you see yourself as a role model for younger people?

I think that it is a hard industry to get into, but it's something that I love to do, and I wanted to allow myself to go for it and to dream big. And I think that that's one of the things the show is about is having big dreams and striving to achieve them and the fact that this has manifested itself into coming true for me is an amazing thing, so I hope that I can be a role model for other people.

Do you have any pre or post-show rituals?

I always love listening to music. I and the other two dreams have a big playlist that we blast in the dressing room of our favourite songs with lots of strong, iconic women like Ariana Grande, Whitney Houston, and all the classic female pop icons. Then just before the show starts, a few of the ensemble get together and we do a little chant before the curtains open. There's a real sense of camaraderie between us all, and it's like your family away from home.


What have the audiences been like on the tour?

I think for me because we started rehearsals back in November, so we've been doing this for a while now, they’re the thing that keeps it so fresh. The new audiences every single night give you a different response and different reactions. And for some people, it might be the first time that they've ever seen a musical or they've ever seen Dreamgirls. So, it's about that special experience for them and that we are a part of it. One of my favourite cities audience-wise was Wimbledon because a lot of my family and friends were there in London, so they came to see the show.


What do you love so much about playing Lorrell every night?

I feel like I resonate with her because she is just a larger-than-life, stagier version of myself. And I like that I can get a reaction from the audience because I’m able to bring light and laughter to the role.

Do you have any advice for people who might want to get into this industry?

I would say that you need to believe in yourself every step of the way because I'm a girl from Nottingham, I didn't have any connections in the industry, but I had a goal that I wanted to achieve and knew what I wanted to do. So, you've got to believe in yourself, do the research, see as many shows as you can and persevere even when it gets difficult.




Dreamgirls will be dazzling its way to the Alexandra Theatre Birmingham from 6th - 31st December and tickets are available at the following link https://www.atgtickets.com/shows/dreamgirls/the-alexandra-theatre-birmingham/


7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page