top of page
priyagupta1014

Hayley-Ria Christian in Midnight Train to Georgia




Midnight Train to Georgia is a celebration of Gladys Knight. Hayley- Ria Christian takes on the role of a lifetime, playing the Empress of Soul. Ahead of her arrival into Birmingham I interviewed her to find out more about this dream role.

How does it feel to be playing such an iconic role? Is this the dream role for you?
Yes, I've been singing her songs for years and I would always listen to the music as my mum played it all the time. So, I created this show and created the role just to share the music. It's been amazing and the role of a lifetime. I feel so fortunate to be able to play Gladys Knight.
Are there any parts of her story you felt you needed to tell?
So many people ironically know her song Midnight Train to Georgia. But I wanted to let people in on my love for her music and share that love. And show them just how many songs she had a hand in. I just feel that her music needs to be spread to more generations. I wanted everyone to know just how many songs she had sung and some of the songs that we think are other peoples are hers.

So, what are some of your favourite songs of hers to perform? If you had to pick the top three, is that possible?
The Way We Were is always a good one because it's reflecting on a lot of things and it brings back lots of memories for people, which is great because everybody's always gasping in the audience when that song starts. And there's another song at the end of the show where people are like, oh, this is different, and then it builds and it builds, and people say, ‘I didn't even know she did this one’, that's going to be a good one. I'm not going to mention which song it is because I don't want to spoil it for you. But look out for that one, because the roof raises and the whole audience are full of applause. And then I can't choose between Part Time Love, and Neither One of Us. I also really love her cover of Bonnie Raitt’s I can't make you love me because I think that's a lovely moment in the show.

What's one of your favourite places to perform in the UK? And where is one of your favourite theatres to performer in the UK?

I love Newcastle because the people are just so friendly, but I also love the area. I've just had some great times performing there and I really enjoy it. The audience is great, the people are great. I've always had a great experience whenever I'm there. For me, one of my favourite theatres to performing is Southend Cliffs Pavilion, because that was where Gladys Knight did one of her first tours of the UK like 30-40 years ago. So, I feel really close to her when I'm performing there because I know she has seen the same thing that I am seeing when I perform their, it just feels like such a great moment for me. I'm really looking forward to coming down to Birmingham because I'm originally from Nottingham, so all my family are coming to see the show and I just think it's going to be a great night because my friends and family will be in the audience and my mum is going to be in the audience and I just can't wait to perform for them all. I've gigged in Birmingham many times before and the atmosphere is always warm and wonderful. I've also gigged in Walsall, and Dudley before and I just feel like the people there just want to give you a hug.

Finally, how do you prepare for this iconic role? Obviously, the voice is key, but what else?

I've seen Gladys perform twice live, and I've studied her for years. I've looked at her mannerisms, her costumes, I've studied the colours that she goes for, her hairstyles, her movements. And I feel like I'm at the right age currently in my life to play her and I think that that's also key, is having enough of that life experience to be able to tap into her songs and channel those emotions. So, I think that as much as it is obviously the voice it is also all the other things such as the stage presence, the hair, the make-up, the music, the band, all of that, which allows me to tap into that side.

Midnight Train to Georgia is on at the Alexandra Theatre, Birmingham on Thursday 7th of July 2022 and tickets are available at the following link https://www.atgtickets.com/shows/midnight-train-to-georgia/the-alexandra-theatre-birmingham/
22 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page