top of page
priyagupta1014

Guys and Dolls Interview


BMOS Musical Theatre Company returns to The Alexandra Theatre Birmingham stage later this month with a spectacular performance of the popular Broadway classic musical, Guys and Dolls. BMOS are Birmingham’s award-winning musical theatre company, and they are excited to bring this funny musical story of luck, gambling, and love under the bright lights of Broadway to life. Guys and Dolls has been enjoyed by audiences since the 1950s, initially as a musical, then as a film starring Marlon Brando, Gene Simmons, Frank Sinatra, and Vivian Blaine. BMOS are bringing the show back to life at the Alexandra Theatre, Birmingham, from the 28th of June to the 2nd of July. Ahead of their much-anticipated return, I was fortunate enough to speak to Annabel Pilcher, who plays Sergeant Sarah Brown, read on for what she had to say.


Describe Sergeant Sarah Brown in three words?

Oh, let me think. Passionate, strong-willed, and loving. I think she's quite hard to warm to initially, it's quite hard to make her likeable at the start of the show, so I'm trying to give her a bit of a soft side with that passion there.

Is that something that you were aware of coming into playing this role that she is someone to who the audiences do not instantly take a liking to, even though she's essentially one of the leads?

It is something that I thought about because you know she is quite cold and it is hard, especially when she becomes romantically involved with Sky, there's always that fear that people will find you a bit too cheesy. You're not there for comedy and you've got to make the characters seem genuine and someone that the audience can relate to. So, it was certainly a challenge that had crossed my mind.


What similarities and differences have you found between you and Sarah?
Oh, I'm quite determined and passionate myself about things that I believe in, in life, but as well, I mean, she seems kind of sensible and very demure on the outside, but then she gets the opportunity later in the show to let loose and explore her more adventurous side, and I would say that is quite like me. I have an adventurous side, so it's nice to explore both sides of that character because that is quite like me. I can appear quite prim and proper, and then if you get me at a party I just let loose.


What is your favourite part of rehearsing Guys and Dolls so far?
My favourite part of the process, I think it's just being amongst the cast because it's a show that has such a variety of characters, quite a lot of the rehearsals have been a full call for the cast. And so, it's just been lovely to be around everyone and it's not a very cliquey cast. It's kind of a real mix of people, and people are constantly mingling, being social butterflies and being supportive of one another. And as well, everyone is so focused and dedicated and passionate about the show. So, everyone is kind of working just as hard as everyone else to just make sure it's such a good show. So, it's just a real sense of family and camaraderie.


So, what was your first experience of Guys and Dolls?

I've not seen the production or the film either. My first experience was the music because I like jazz music and a lot of the songs from the show have become jazz standards and you know, Frank Sinatra, made quite a lot of the songs famous, like Lucky be a Lady, for example. So that was kind of how I first found out about it, just because I liked singing the songs. And then when I found out it was a whole show, I was like, this is just my kind of show, a real classic Broadway show. And yeah, it was like when I was a teenager, I kind of found out about the role of Sarah Brown. And was like, I must play this one day, and now here I am.

And we've touched upon this already slightly. But what's it like to play that sort of empowering, powerhouse woman, especially in today's climate?
It's good because often in these musicals, characters like Sarah, like the romantic leads, can often be a bit of a wet blanket. And sometimes it can be hard to give them that strength and feel empowered by that. But, because she's so headstrong, it's been great to put that into the character. And, at the start of the show, when she first meets Sky, she's saying, you know, I know what I want, I don't want you, this is how I want my life to be and all of that. But then also in a way when she then starts to fall for him, that's almost empowering too, because then she's exploring another side of herself and kind of letting go. And she's still kind of owning who she is. At the same time, she doesn't necessarily change for him, I like that about her.


And finally, why should people come and see the show?

We've worked to make this show feel current and make the characters relatable and entertaining. And I mean, there's a lot of humour in the dialogue and there are some hilarious characters and we've focused on the comedy and the comedic timing. I mean, it's just hilarious. So, for a start, people will be coming away laughing. I think the script has stood the test of time, it's American, it's slapstick and honestly, the cast has been in stitches watching some of the characters, they are just hilarious. And I think as well with a lot of musicals written in the 1950s, you know, people think of the older musicals, the Golden Age musicals. But this one, I think, has a twist because of the jazz music, I mean, it's just a joy to listen to. The production numbers like the big dance numbers are fab, so it's just got this whole variety of characters and just so much going on that, you know, I think you'll just be entertained all night. And we've given it kind of a fresh look with the musical, so I think people will love it.





Guys and Dolls is on at the Alexandra Theatre, Birmingham from the 28th of June to the 2nd of July, tickets are available at the following link.


20 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page